Why Symmetra is so Important (Alternate Title: Dear Overwatch, Please Return My Life)

So to be honest, I haven’t actually played Overwatch a lot. I love love love the lore, the characters, the art, the community (the shipping, the fanfics), but as far as actual playtime, I haven’t gotten much under my belt.  I hadn’t even reached level 25 until the end of December, but I finally dived headfirst into my adventures of competitive Overwatch. Or as I like to call it – “Yes, I really am not very good at this game but this is still fun.”

I definitely jumped back into stuff that week because of the Christmas event on Tuesday – though most of my Christmas spirit involved a present to myself in the form of 50 loot boxes (my wallet mourns my decision). But I have been playing pretty loyally this week out of happiness because of Symmetra’s buff.

As an “I played Symmetra before she was buffed” person, the buff made me super happy but a bit salty that I couldn’t always lock in Symm on Quick Play before a buff-happy rando grabbed her. I feel a bit better about that now obviously since the hype has dyed down and I can play Symm again, and in the meantime I got to level up my Lucio skills (in fact, most of my competitive time so far has been exclusively Lucio, since my laggy comp makes it difficult to reliably aim).

I’m just honestly super excited that Symm is new Reinhart ;D

And I just love Symmetra and everything about her. It’s wonderful to see an Indian character in a huge game like Overwatch, and for her to be on the spectrum (as, in many Indian families, if a member of the family has autism, it isn’t discussed often). Having an autistic Indian character who is smart, kicks ass, and dances Bharathanatyam (like I do!!!) is seriously wonderful.  And the fact that she is supposedly “morally ambiguous” makes me even more excited because praise character development and gray lines of morality.

On that note, I’m going to theoretically ignore playing Overwatch until Katsucon in February so I can finish all of my Overwatch cosplays for it (oops, I may have been OVERambitious with this :3). Tune back in to see if I (and my plans) survive. Woot~!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Paul-NL says:

    Symmetra is really one of the coolest characters in Overwatch. Between her Pharah and the otheres, I also love how Blizzard have been portraying different backgrounds and their cultures.

    Like

    1. nekonamiblog says:

      I’m so excited for the Lunar New Year event because it’ll give more chance for even more cultures to shine in Overwatch ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Paul-NL says:

        Right?! Overwatch has done a fantastic job of being a game that can appeal to a variety of cultures. It’d be amazing to see them do a colorful event for Holi, or Japanese Sakura event. There are so many possibilities!!

        That said, do you share your posts on any other websites? I work over at Creators .Co (we’re part of Movie Pilot and Now Loading) and this is the sort of content that makes for an interesting read. If you were open to the idea of posting your work on our Creators site in addition to also having your blog/site here, I’d be more than happy to help you get started. My e-mail and more info can be found on my page. (o^.^)b

        Like

      2. nekonamiblog says:

        I think this would be a fantastic opportunity. Do you have a link to the kind of content you folks produce? I would definitely be open to the idea of posting there as well after seeing your content!

        Like

Leave a Reply

